What was the deciding factor for you?

Options

Replies

• seebeachrun
    seebeachrun Posts: 221 Member
    Options
    Got engaged and realized I had been wearing stretchy scrub pants to work for months because none of my slacks fit me (I am an attorney so wearing scrub pants to court without shame was pretty bad.) Just found out my high school reunion is at the end of June so that's additional motivation.
  • mannaseng
    Options
    Seeing myself sideways in the mirror and being SO appalled by my stomach sticking out. Oh, and realizing that the reason I hate shopping for pants is because I always look fat and it depresses me. This made me realize the reason I was wearing 7-10 year old pants still was because I just couldn't stand to face my fat butt and go jean shopping. How pathetic.
  • Juawill
    Juawill Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    Mine was building for awhile. I'm a 59 year old male with two grown children. One of them will be married two years this June. I guess I'm hoping for grandkids and I definitely want to be able to play with them, not just look at them whenever they do come. I never rated obese. Rather, I've been the the upper range of the overweight category. I've smoked for most of my life (grew up with the Marlboro Man on TV all the time!). Anyhow, I'm smoke free since March 1.

In February I decided I needed to do something. I sat here at the computer and did a few hours of research including WW. Obviously, I decided to use MFP and I also jumped in my car, drove to Best Buy and bought a Fitbit Ultra. Now, between the three of us (MFP, Fitbit and me), I'm tracking everything that goes into me and everything that gets burned up. I work out three times a week at a gym and am fairly active other times. My goal is 20-25 pounds. When I get there I'll reevaluate to see if I want to go further. I do NOT want to get skinny; I want to be at a healthy weight for someone my height and age.

Anyhow, for me it's all about living healthy.