HMR/FitBit/Calories burned-OVERWHELMED

I know there are SO many threads on HRM'S,fitbits, RMR and calories burned and trust that I have tried to find the answer without posting....but the 27 open windows are overwhelming me, and I am so frustrated!!

So, I currently have a fitbit, which is nice as a guide and a motivator, but I am not sure I completely trust its accuracy.

I was looking up an exercise in the fitbit exercise log, and came upon: Sitting - writing, desk work, typing. It said I would burn 114 calories doing this per hour.

I am a graduate student, somedays (A LOT of days) I spend 12 hours at the desk writing and researching....but is this really a calorie tracking activity?? On the other hand when I see the fitbit chart tell me I have been sedentary for 12 hours it makes me crazy!!

So, would a heart rate monitor tell me how many calories I burn throughout the day, even if I were lying in bed only breathing and blinking? Or is it only good for workouts when the heart rate is increased.

Replies

• Anyone??
  • graysmom2005
    graysmom2005 Posts: 1,882 Member
    HRM are only supposed to be used during exercise. If you want something that tracks your whole day you'd need a Body Media or a Body Bugg. Body Media is a "Good" right now on Groupon. 95 bucks for one and three months subscription. HTH!
  • luvsherhubby
    luvsherhubby Posts: 135 Member