New to Site! ~Shuutnstar

Options
Hey there,

My name is Jenifer and I am new to this site! I have got about 70 pounds to lose. Nothing too daunting, right? I work as an Administrative Assistant in a Dental Implant Company and sit on my butt for 9 hours a day and on top of that, I have a 1.5 hour commute!

Anyhow, this seemed like a great resource, so I figured I would give it a shot! I would love to hear comments on best weight loss tips, tips for eating healthier, and tips for overcoming workout and motivation problems!

Best of Luck to all of us!
Jenifer

Replies

• stormdragon777
    Options
    Hi Jenifer and welcome! Congrats on making the healthy choice in your life! Many folks here are well-versed and educated in their craft, so I'm sure you'll have a wealth of resources at your disposal. Welcome aboard!
  • amymeenieminymo
    amymeenieminymo Posts: 2,394 Member
    Options
    My best weightloss tip I can give you.....in order to lose weight, you DON'T have to kill yourself with a 2 hour workout at the gym everyday.

If I had to go to the gym to lose weight, I would never stick to it. But I found things I love doing that doesn't necessarily feel like a work out. You'll see a lot of people's workout's burning between 400-1000 calories, which if that works for them, awesome. But I don't like "exercise", and I don't like how long it can take, so my typical workouts are 220-600 (600 being a weekend day that I have more time). I walk (on my lunch hour which is great for us office workers) and I ride my bike in the park near my house. Just on my 1/2 hour walk today I burned 250 calories...granted it's not a leisurely stroll, but it's not a pace that you can't work up to if you haven't been walking in a while.

Sure there are days when I just don't feel like walking or biking, but for the most part I enjoy it and it doesn't feel like exercise per se.