1 week into MFP...some encouragement please!

Options
Hi everyone, I'm new to this but am finding the app on my phone really helpful. I got it so I could lose a few lbs. I love food and always eat too much...too much of the wrong thing too. I'm currently at 132lbs and want to get down to 120lbs and I'm 5"1. I'm aiming to eat around 1200 calories a day but I don't do much exercise. The only exercise I get is at work (a primary school.) I'm always too tired to exercise after work...isn't that always the case? I'm managing to keep under my allowance most days. I weighed myself yesterday and I had lost 1lb. I weighed myself this morning...the 1lb had reappeared! Argh...I realise I'm only 1 week into it but I feel like I need some encouragement! I've been looking at some of the success stories which are really inspirational but most of them have been working at it for weeks and months! I'm sat here really wanting to open the biscuit tin...
Thanks for listening to my moan!!!
K

Replies

• janeite1990
    janeite1990 Posts: 694 Member
    Options
    I feel your pain about being tired, but you'll have to exercise for this to work. Some people on here seem to have limitless time for exercise. Most don't I work 45 hours and have 3 kids (6 and under), and my husband works 70 hours a week, so he isn't there much to help. You will need to find a way to squeeze in at least 30 minutes a day. If you are a morning person, do it before work. If you are a night person, do it when you get home. You'll feel less tired after you do it. You don't have to join a gym. Go for a quick run or do DVDs at home.

Don't give up. Get more committed. You can do it! Read through the success story threads for inspiration!
  • Eryndil
    Eryndil Posts: 32
    Options
    Don't be discouraged! The first week I started MFP I gained 2lbs and I was super miffed.

Weight-loss takes time. Also, results are not typically noticed till about 2-4 weeks after beginning a weight-loss regime.