Am I eating too many carbs?

Options
I'm a very poor college student and I tend to eat a lot of cereal and a lot of sandwiches. Example: The past week I've had either a cucumber and tomato sandwich or a turkey sandwich with green bell peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers. I alternate which one everyday. Usually cereal for breakfast and depending on what I feel like for dinner, either fruits, a sandwich or cereal.

I rarely go over my calorie limit or even reach the calorie goal but I can't help but feeling like I'm eating too many carbs! I go jogging for 35 mins 3-5 times a week. What do you think?

Replies

• dls06
    dls06 Posts: 6,774 Member
    Options
    As long as you are staying within your calorie goal I think it's ok. If you are going over on your carbs, You could get lower calorie bread or low carb tortilla's for your sandwiches if you are really concerned about it. Try not to eat cereal with a lot of sugar.
  • agentscully514
    agentscully514 Posts: 616 Member
    Options
    it's hard to say without knowing more details. Oatmeal or Captain Crunch?

for what it's worth, if you are short on cash, box cereal is one of the more expensive things you can eat, considering the ingredients. There are far cheaper carbs out there, basically anything you can buy by the pound at the whole foods store or even many supermarkets.

Hard boiled eggs are a great choice for budget-strapped dieters.
  • Sidesteal
    Sidesteal Posts: 5,510 Member
    Options
    I'm a very poor college student and I tend to eat a lot of cereal and a lot of sandwiches. Example: The past week I've had either a cucumber and tomato sandwich or a turkey sandwich with green bell peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers. I alternate which one everyday. Usually cereal for breakfast and depending on what I feel like for dinner, either fruits, a sandwich or cereal.