Advice on good snacks

Options
Today is one of those days that I feel like I want to eat all day. I need some tips on good things to snack on that are not bad for me. I'm new to MFP and have been doing great tracking my food, but have had a few days where I went overboard. I seem to have a need to snack a lot the day after working out.

Replies

• BeeSunny
    BeeSunny Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    Good for you!!! I am in the same boat hungry all the time, the reason why I gained so much!! Anything high in fiber is suppose to fill you up and so is increasing your protein. I find snacks like apples and some almonds are a good combo to help keep you full, protein shakes, fiber one bars, light yogurt (I like the greek yogurt), combo of vegetables with nuts, or fruit with nuts. You need to find what works for you, each person and hunger are different. I still have trouble even when I eat 6 small meals a day to control my appetite. I have read if you do not eat anything with sugar in it or processed foods you do not crave as much. Wish I could help more, there are some good snack recipes online or even on here under nutrition.
  • rsmugala
    rsmugala Posts: 35
    Options
    This is going to sound silly, but yesterday I was starving, and we have several bags of frozen veggies in the freezer. I steamed the whole bag, like 3-4 cups. I drained the water, coated them with a couple tablespoons FF sour cream, and sprinkled soy bacon bits. It TOTALLY filled my belly, and for under 150 calories.
  • geezer99
    geezer99 Posts: 92
    Options
    Dried fruit like raisins, nuts in moderation (avoid salted.) I really miss cheese and so Sunshine Cheez-it crackers are a help. I'm at my desk at 3:00 and have a banana and an apple to take me through until dinner after 9 tonight. Also good are gourmet olives (not packed in oil) -- a lot of flavor for the calories.
  • MarleyGetsFit
    MarleyGetsFit Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Believe it or not, chips and homemade salsa!!