how do i caculate calories burned if my body has become more

Options
How do I calculate the calories burned for my regular swim – if I have been doing it a long time and my body has become more efficient so is burning less calories than the myfitnesspal shows? I swim 5 days a week / an hour each day. Three of those days I swim a practice for beginner triathlon (swimming only). It is a tough program and so I know I am burning a lot of calories. Myfitnesspal says 700+ calories for the beginner triathlon workout. However on the other two days of the week my swim is less aggressive. I still swim an hour. I swim a steady pace of freestyle. About 77 lengths – well over a mile. The myfitnesspal exercise thingie says I am burning over 600 calories but I am sure since I have been doing this for 9 months now – my body has become more efficient and I don’t want to eat back all those calories. Does anyone know a ratio maybe of how many of the calories I would really be burning. Thank you in advance for your comments.

Replies

• pitbullmama
    pitbullmama Posts: 454 Member
    Options
    Water resistant HRM?
  • yesthistime
    yesthistime Posts: 2,051 Member
    Options
    Water resistant HRM?

This. Or just override the estimate and type in 50% of the calorie burn that MFP gives you. This site tends to overestimate cardio calories in a major way for me and many others.
  • tammyclair
    Options
    The 50% thing I can do. thank you. where would I get a water resistant HRM?
  • sandy2006
    sandy2006 Posts: 483 Member
    Options
    I got mine at Target for less than 100.00 Polar ft4 I wear it in the water all the time. Works great!
  • tammyclair
    Options
    very cool. thank you
  • Quasita
    Quasita Posts: 1,530 Member
    Options