bicycle riding

Options
I started riding again but my butt is killing me. I have a gel seat cover but doesn't seem to help.
Anyone have any ideas for bike riding comfort? and proper seat height?

thanks

Replies

• colofitguyfm
    Options
    There are special seats for men and women above and beyond a gel pad. Check them out at the bike shop.
  • MrsM1ggins
    MrsM1ggins Posts: 724 Member
    Options
    Padded shorts are the solution to your 'pain problem'.

You need to adjust the seat so your leg is straight when your heel is on the pedal. When you put the ball of your foot on the pedal your knee should be slightly bent.

If you do a search on You Tube you should be able to find some videos explaining how to set up the seat. You may need to move it back/forward as well as up/down and you need to look at the angle front/back as well.
  • ATLMel
    ATLMel Posts: 392 Member
    Options
    I'm primarily a runner but I can offer you the advice I got when I started cycling. Fit is HUGE. I think this REI article gives great advice on proper fit: http://www.rei.com/expertadvice/articles/bike+fit.html

As far as your butt, I found the gel seats to be awful. I have a pretty small saddle that basically jsut supports my sit bones. I figure less contact= less hurt. Also, you'll get more tolerance for the butt soreness after several rides. I find if I'm out of the saddle for a week or two a lot more soreness comes back after my next ride. You'll adapt. Cycling shorts might not be a bad idea.
  • wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    It's a complex topic. The best way to set your bicycle up is have a shop do a fit for you.

Failing that, there are a lot of bicycle fit articles on the internet, and a lot of rule of thumbs.. I dont know if its ok to post links, but PM me if you want and ill send you the one I use.

Let's talk about your saddle for a moment.

You would think a big cushy seat is a great idea, but it's not.