Extra Skin?

Options
I'm a little worried about losing a lot of weight and having extra skin. I lose an average about 2.2lbs a week. I weigh 240.7lbs I'm just wondering has anyone had this problem or does skin shrink pretty quick?

15676875.png
Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Free Weight Loss Tools

Replies

• michaelthorsonjr
    Options
    You won't technically have extra skin - you will still have the same amount. From what I've read (believe me I'm no expert) skin is alive and will shrink back eventually to fit your new figure ... although this could take as much as up to 2 years from what I've read.
  • vdubster
    vdubster Posts: 2
    Options
    I'm wondering the same thing? I'm currently 250lbs from a starting weight of 323lbs.
  • gildinha
    gildinha Posts: 57 Member
    Options
    bump!
  • kkarrolle
    kkarrolle Posts: 120 Member
    Options
    How much skin shrinks back can depend on a few factors and these will likely include genetics, environment, yo-yo dieting (along with extreme losses and gains in short periods of time), hydration, exercise, underlying body mass though this is more to do with visual aspect, etc. It can also take a while to shrink back for those that it does shrink back.

Be patient, take it as it comes, do your best to the manage the factors that you can and at the end of the day, should you have some excess skin - a little excess skin is better than be massively unhealthy due to being overnight.
  • sondra216379
    sondra216379 Posts: 174 Member
    Options
    I thought that in order to NOT have all the "extra" skin, you had to be doing toning exercises?
  • Beth_R
    Beth_R Posts: 6
    Options