Starting to run...hate beinf seen

Options
I'm just beginning to run again and lets be honest, I'm horrible. At this point the most I can do without stopping is 1.1 km.. I run outside, I HATE that others can see me. I mind read about what they must be thinking about me. How do you push yourself to actually go out and run in public? I'm not overweight so I feel I should be expected to be able to run.

Replies

• hiker282
    hiker282 Posts: 983 Member
    Options
    Everybody has to start somewhere. People aren't watching you as much as you might think. If they are, it's for the two seconds as they pass you and then you're just another jogger/walker they saw on the road and quickly forgotten. The point is that you're out there changing your life for the better. You're not doing it for the spectators, you're doing it in spite of them and more-so for yourself. Oh, wearing head phones also keeps anybody from trying to talk to you and can help you zone in to your run rather than worrying that people are watching you.
  • junebug523
    junebug523 Posts: 196
    Options
    Well, I think about how I always admire people I see running outside. So when I am running, I keep that in mind. And once I really get into the groove of my run, I don't care at all about other people seeing me. Good luck! Don't let self-consciousness prevent you from doing something you know is good for you!
  • maryduggins
    maryduggins Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    I just started running for the past 2.5 months and that was one of the *biggest* things that I hated. Since starting to run in January I've dropped 10 pounds and am more in shape than I've ever been - even when I was mega skinny I couldn't run for more than 45-60 seconds - and now I can run 3 miles without stopping!!!

I'd start doing it at night/early morning when there's less people outside or you could try the treadmill at a gym(: