No cardio=depressed..?

Options
kyunda
kyunda Posts: 340 Member
So i started out doing Turbo Fire(high intense cardio), i did the whole 20 week program and LOVE IT! So i recently started Chalean Extreme(strength building with weights) which does not have as much intense cardio like TF but it does still have some cardio.

I've just finished my 1st 30 days and the closer i got to the end the sadder :frown: i became...? I have nothing going on in my life to make me feel sad. So i started adding running into my workouts and will add more and some TF workouts too.

My questions is do you ever feel sad when you aren't getting enough cardio in...???? Or is it just me?

Replies

• yeowiepower
    yeowiepower Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    whoa... mostly im sad when i am doing cardio... thank goodness for tvs at the gym!!!

are you talking about the sensation of being tired but energised at the same time? bit of a paradox, and im not a scientist but would be facinated to know if its got something to do with blood flow and brain chemistry, or even a lack of oxygen to the brain hahaha
  • goodfido
    goodfido Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    Well in October I had a foot surgery and was out of commission. A few weeks ago I started physcial therapy and also working out again because I was so down and discouraged. I wasn't liking the way I was looking, I was tired all the time and just felt blah. Since working out and rehabing after surgery I'm feeling better about myself and over all just feel more energized. So I do think there is a link to working out and cardio that makes you feel good. I just can't wait until I can get a full work out again and hit the pavement running.
  • Smuterella
    Smuterella Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    Cardio is wonderful for alleviating depression, gets all those brain chemicals pumping, at least for me. I hate running while I'm doing it but afterwards I feel elated for a good few hours.
  • KPainter70
    KPainter70 Posts: 152