Need advice finding my caloric intake for maintaning my weig

Options
Hi Everyone,
I am new to the message boards.
When I started out, I only had about 10 pounds I wanted to loose and didn't start using fitness pal till I had about 5 more pounds to loose. But, I love using it still because it keeps me accountable!
I have reached my goal weigh....as of today! YAY! Now, I want to maintain my weight. I'm not sure what to up my calories to. According to FP, I should have 1200 calories a day and that should make me loose a pound a week. Well, I actually lost a pound a day....the whole time! I work out pretty hard doing crossfit and weightlifting. Also, walk/run the dogs a few times a week.
Any suggestions on what I should start with as far as upping my calories? I do need to start maintaining....with my working out I don't think I can really (healthily) loose any more. I'm starting to feel weak. But, I don't want to over do it either and undo what I have done!
Here is my info:
36 years old
5'2 (1/2)
110 pounds
Thank you!!!!! =)

Replies

• Tourney3p0
    Tourney3p0 Posts: 290 Member
    Options
    First you need to get a reasonable idea of how many calories you're burning with your exercise and other activities. A heart rate monitor with a calories burned calculator will be good for this.

Then you need to calculate your BMR (Tools tab at the top). Looks like it's around 1150 calories per day for your build.

Add those two numbers together. Eat that many calories per day. You should approximately maintain your weight. Keep an eye on it over time in case you notice yourself gaining or losing (though give it a couple weeks to account for water fluctuations and similar) and adjust your caloric intake accordingly. Any weight loss or gain using that method should be minimal until you hit the right spot.