Protein powder ?

Options
crazydv
crazydv Posts: 183 Member
I have never used this product before but would like to give it a try

If I purchase a vanilla and add fruit, does it just taste like the fruit? Is it really thick like a smoothie or is it more like a milk shake?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Cris

Replies

• soonernick
    soonernick Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    Start by buying small containers! A lot of them are nasty and you don't want a 5 pound jar of it. I use Gaspari nutrition pro-biotics. I don't put fruit in mine but it is drinkable and fits my needs.
  • Lesa_Sass
    Lesa_Sass Posts: 2,213 Member
    Options
    We use the Cytosport Whey protein powder(chocolate) and it is AWESOME. I make it with unsweetened almond milk. I also add some berries from time to time.

I was drinking the premier nutrition protein shake with soy, I like this one much better.
  • crazydv
    Options
    Do you buy protein powder at a health food store or the grocery store?

Thanks for the tip on buying small jars to start!
  • JenniTheVeggie
    JenniTheVeggie Posts: 2,474 Member
    Options
    I really like the pure protein chocolate powder mix. (25g protein and 140 calories). It is low in sugar too. It mixes pretty good with just a spoon and a glass!
  • Lesa_Sass
    Lesa_Sass Posts: 2,213 Member
    Options

I get it at costco because it is way cheaper than the health food store. As for the consistency, it is going to be according to what you put in it as to how thick it is. If you just use a regular liquid, it is going to be just a little thicker than that liquid. If you add frozen fruit or ice, you will have more of a milkshake effect. If you add regular fruit, it will be more like a smoothie.
  • crazydv
    Options