Off for 3 weeks and counting...

Options
I've been really sick for a couple of weeks and am finally getting better. I was running at least three times a week. I haven't been able to do anything because of the cold I had. I'm still on antibiotics and working on getting better. So my question is for those of you who run and had to take a break for a while...how was it going back? I'm still a beginner and have only been at it since November. Would like to hear what others think.

Replies

• MB_Positif
    MB_Positif Posts: 8,897 Member
    Options
    Take it easy to start and see what happens. Maybe set your goal to at least run half the distance/time you were doing before?
  • Donnacoach
    Donnacoach Posts: 540 Member
    Options
    I recently had to miss 10 days, and I could def. tell a difference. i had had some surgery and I was much weaker afterwards. Don't push yourself to hard, or you will end up back being sick again. Your body will tell you when you've had enough. Feel better soon.
  • rudegyal_b
    rudegyal_b Posts: 593 Member
    Options
    i took almost 2 weeks off once and could still run a 5k after, but i did do cardio through the 2 weeks
  • GetFitE
    GetFitE Posts: 247 Member
    Options
    I was training for a half-marathon last year (July) and had to take a break because I started having SEVERE knee pains soon after hitting 7 miles. I took about 3 months off (Starting back up around August). It was a little tough getting back on the wagon. I found myself only able to run 2-3 mile runs, which was disappointing because I had hit 7 prior to stopping, but I just kept at it because I not only enjoyed running, but I liked the non-scale victories every time I added on a new mile. And it DID have it's up and down moments of course!