Why does 35 lb seem so impossible????

Options
I LOVE seeing all of these success stories. They are so inspirational and MFP has definitely helped to keep me motivated so far. But I just feel like the stupid 35 lbs I want to lose is sooo far off and that I will never reach it. I know that sounds so pathetic compared to all of you who have lost so much more than that and I am absolutely amazed by all of you who have done so well. I really look up to you all and I hope I can reach my goal like all of you have. Am I the only one feeling this way? Is it because I am just starting out?

Replies

• itsawarinthere
    itsawarinthere Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Try not to think of "35 pounds", but just tackle one pound at a time. You can do it!
  • Tourney3p0
    Tourney3p0 Posts: 290 Member
    Options
    It's probably because you're just starting out, like you said. Hopefully you'll be making some sustainable (key word here) changes in your eating habits. That should give you some initial motivation to get started, because you'll see some immediate and tangible differences between "then" and "now".

The weight loss is going to be slow, no doubt about it. For that reason it might seem hopeless, because it's human nature to hope for immediate results. In a couple weeks however, you'll start seeing some differences. That will be assurance that you're making the right choices and heading in the right direction. Keep up with the new eating habits (the reason "sustainable" is so important here), and you'll make it.
  • BlaireV
    BlaireV Posts: 137
    Options
    When I first started out, I never thought I could do it. But I promised myself that I had to keep at it and give it time. I originally only wanted to lose 30 pounds - and have now lost 40, with a goal to lose another 10 because now I know that I can. You can too! Just keep at it, don't get discouraged by little setbacks, and it will happen. Your mind has to be in it, 100% :)
  • ilvmykidz