Does anyone have trouble making their calorie goal?

Options
I have been eating healthy foods for about four months and I don't know how many times I was under my calorie goals! A lot. I am only aiming for 1200 calories per day and I try to eat pretty well balanced meals. I hate to see red numbers on the screen, so when I go over in sugars or in fats or sodium, I have a hard time finding foods I can eat to still meet my calorie goals. And then MFP exclaims in bold red print that I am not eating enough. Is it a big deal? Should I just eat more food until I meet my calories? Or am I slowing down my metabolism? I'm only 5'2" if it matters. I don't feel tired or anything and I eat back my calories when I work out.

Replies

• PurpleStarKatz
    PurpleStarKatz Posts: 45 Member
    Options
    Some days (Like today, when I'm sick and the thought of food is repulsive most of the day...) I'm guilty of not eating enough. So i'm interested to see some other perspective on this.

As far as sugars, it depends on what kind of sugars you are eating. If it's from fruits and veggies and such, it's more okay to go over than if it's processed/refined sugar. MFP doesn't account for natural vs. processed sugar.

That's about all I know though.
  • juliesummers
    juliesummers Posts: 738 Member
    Options
    Definitely. I often have a hard time reaching it (especially when I'm busy) and it's really f*cked up my metabolism. I'm working really hard to increase my cals and hit at least 1200/day, but since I've been so much lower than that for so long, my body's packing on weight so quickly and it makes me want to cry.
  • kcoftx
    kcoftx Posts: 765 Member
    Options