Help! Where does vegetarian start?

Options
Hi, I'm new to MFP and also a reasonably new vegetarian (3months). I'm relearning the whole food thing since almost having a heart attack. I'm 42, a mother of three and wife to a nurse.
I'm well aware the need for protein in losing weight but since rice, potatoes, pasta etc are a big part of a vegetarians diet (well mine at this point anyway!) I'm not sure where to cut back as I don't think I could JUST do non starch veges.
Also, what is the best oil to use. I've heard Rice Bran Oil is much healthier than Olive Oil. Any advice? I go to Curves Gym at least 3-4 times a week. I need to lose about 90lbs to fall pregnant. Where do I start? Help!

Replies

• Schnuddelbuddel
    Schnuddelbuddel Posts: 472 Member
    Options
    Much bigger part of the diet for me (I'm vegetarian for 20 years now) would be pulses. Lentils & beans & tofu have a TON of protein and are healthy and yummy ;) You can also use quinoa or couscous to mix things up a bit. Use wholegrain/brown rice/pasta etc. They're higher in calories but not the empty kind so it's all good :)
    Not sure if you're including eggs into your diet or not, but if you do, they're also a great source of protein.

Hope that helps :)
  • sabriel
    sabriel Posts: 46
    Options
    Hey,
    I've been veggie for about 7 years now.
    Before I was dieting a lot of my diet was potatoes and pasta too but they are high in calories. I find now I eat noodles lots instead of pasta dishes. Have you tried sweet potatoes? I also eat lot of Quorn foods, especially the chicken style pieces.
    For protein I eat lots of eggs often egg whites to avoid the calories. I also use a protein shake on gym days.
    I also use a 1 calorie spray oil since I found out how many calories were in olive oil. (I used to not even log it!)
    I hope this is some help. :)
  • Rohbean
    Rohbean Posts: 45 Member
    Options