Really??

Options
So I'm very new to this so bare with me. But something is bugging me. I go to Curves every morning. It 30 mins of circuit training. In between each station I run in place. My heart rate is consistantly on target for the maximum workout. HOWEVER, when I log it in here it says I'm only burning 32 calories. This is very disappointing because this is my literally the only chance I have to workout and I'm committed to Curves for the next year. Any thoughts on whether this is right or wrong?

Replies

• April0815
    April0815 Posts: 780 Member
    Options
    You need to get a heart rate monitor. I know you are burning more than 32 calories.
  • heather0mc
    heather0mc Posts: 4,656 Member
    Options
    something isnt right...maybe your settings are off?

does your curves have a 'curves smart' program? basically it is a key tag you insert into each machine and it tracks your workout. at the end, you put the key tag into the computer and it tells you how many calories you burn. although this helps, i think the only true way of knowing how many you burn is a chest strap heart rate monitor.

good luck! :drinker:
  • andlofly
    andlofly Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    what are you logging it as? when I log 30 min of circuit training it shows 262 cal.
  • Azdak
    Azdak Posts: 8,281 Member
    Options
    There is some mistake in either the way you are logging your workout, or your profile. You need to set up a profile with your body weight and other information. If you log in the workout under "circuit training, general" in the cardio section, you will get a more robust calorie number.

Because of the varying nature of circuit training, it will be a rough estimate at best, but more than 32 calories.

For a female of average weight and fitness level, you can expect to burn about 250 calories in a 30 min curves workout. As you become more fit and more accustomed to the machines, you can push yourself a little harder and maybe push it to 300.