Options
Have a 5K on Saturday and will be training for it all week. Thankful I have good endurance, but want to lower my time without damaging my knees. I have a little scar tissue already. Any tips?

Replies

• bugsymalone521
    Options
    Carb up the night before and protein up the day of. I usually do pasta the night before a race and some light protein just before (peanut butter on toast is good for me).

For me, the best way to lower your time is to train accordingly and be ready on race day.

I'm not a knee expert, but maybe visit a running shop to see what kind of shoes they would recommend based on your specific foot type. That could help you with your knees.

Good luck!
  • CarsonRuns
    CarsonRuns Posts: 3,039 Member
    Options
    For any race that last any less than 90 minutes, you don't really need to be concerned with "carbo loading". Just eat something the night before that you know won't send you into gastric distress. In the morning, don't eat any protein within 3 hours of the start of the race as it takes too long to digest. Go with something easy to digest, like a bagel or oatmeal.

As for increasing your speed, the best way to get faster is to run more. More mile, more days, more time. As your body becomes more efficient, then your pace will naturally come down. Once you are running consistently 4 times a week for 3 to 4+ miles at a time, you can add strides at the end of one of you runs each week. This is just a short (40 to 100 meters, depending upon your level of fitness) bursts of speed. You would do 4 to 10 reps, depending upon your level of fitness, with a minute or so easy recovery jog between each one. This gets your body used to running faster, recruits fast twitch muscles and gives you some anaerobic conditioning without the painful lactic acid build up.

One last piece of advice. Don't start out too fast.

And one more thing. Don't start out too fast.

Have fun!
  • brandyk77
    brandyk77 Posts: 605 Member
    Options