Runners do you ever get tummy troubles after a run?

Options
Let me just start by saying that I am fairly new to running right now, and have only been consistently running for 3 months now. I just got to the point that I can run 5 miles straight on a treadmill not outside. I have been having trouble with an upset tummy after my run. I know 4-5 miles is not much for most but when i run that almost as soon as i stop my stomach is all in knots and i have to run to the restroom. It will then be all waked out for at least 1-2 days. Anyone have this experience? Is there something I should be eating before or after? I have tried bananas and protein shakes and really try to get my water in but it does not seem to change anything. Because of this feeling it really makes me not want to run further so any ideas or suggestions would be welcome. TIA - A

Replies

• brandyk77
    brandyk77 Posts: 605 Member
    Options
    I used to be like that when I first started but it has gotten better as I improved my diet. running can be very jarring to the system. Have you tried pepto or anything?
  • AJLovinLife
    AJLovinLife Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    I have not tried pepto because when I was younger it always made me sick. I know now they have tablets maybe I could try those and see if they make me worse.
  • SueInAz
    SueInAz Posts: 6,592 Member
    Options