Anyone else work with animals?

Options
2»

Replies

• Cait_Sidhe
    Cait_Sidhe Posts: 3,150 Member
    Options
    I am the technician supervisor for a small animal (cats and dogs) emergency hospital. I have over 10 years of experience. I do get burnt out and the pay makes me need a second job (I work part time at another ER) but I can't think of anything I'd rather do.

My dream is to work with big cats.
  • LilGiselle21
    LilGiselle21 Posts: 110 Member
    Options
    I'm a pet groomer, dog and cats mainly. I worked in a salon until I decided to be a stay at home mom luckily me it's a job I can do from home so people still call me to bring their lil ones for me to groom.
  • SueGremlin
    SueGremlin Posts: 1,066 Member
    Options
    Yep. I am a veterinary parasitologist. I make the world a less itchy and bitey place for pets and livestock. :smile:

I can't imagine a better career for myself.

This is awesome!! The 3 veterinary parasitologists that we've had teaching us have been some of the coolest, most interesting people we've met during school so far! They tend to give the best lectures too, even if I can't help but itch uncontrollably the whole time! From my experience so far, it seems to take a certain (awesome) type of personality. :)
    Haha. I think you have to be really weird to like bugs so much.
  • rextcat
    rextcat Posts: 1,408 Member
    Options
    bull.jpg
    used to raise sheep
  • aqua_zumba_fan
    Options
    My dream job is to work with animals but currently working in academia. Moving on to something new (who knows what) come October though! Maybe I'll get into animal work - not sure how except starting with volunteering. Any tips anyone?! (I'm in UK)

I run The Mammal Society in the UK, mostly I just talk about animals these days, but I got to hold a pygmy shrew last week which was very exciting.