yoga?

Options
Hey guys... i've heard really good things about how great yoga is for u... i would like to give it a try! I've never done it before and i don't want to spend a bunch of money either... any suggestions for an inexpensive beginners DVD??

Replies

• bschoo01
    bschoo01 Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    bumpity bump!
  • megsmom2
    megsmom2 Posts: 2,362 Member
    Options
    I took a yoga class a few years ago through the local parks and rec....it was great! Id like to do it again now that ive gotten some of "me" out of the way. I always walked out of the class feeling like my whole body had been properly stretched and used.. and also felt about three inches taller! Try it, I bet you'll enjoy it!
  • kkmarie11
    kkmarie11 Posts: 114
    Options
    do you burn any calories during yoga?
  • LiddyBit
    LiddyBit Posts: 447 Member
    Options
    If you have Netflix streaming, there are tons of yoga and Pilates DVDs. The Crunch gym ones are relatively non-annoying.
  • KrystleKiri
    KrystleKiri Posts: 135
    Options
    Ellen Barret's Crunch Slimdown. It's pilates/yoga fusion, 45 minutes long. It's FANTASTIC.
  • LiddyBit
    LiddyBit Posts: 447 Member
    Options
    do you burn any calories during yoga?

Sorry to double post, but personally I find yoga better for stretching than a vigorous workout. Maybe I've just had lackluster teachers but I've never felt "worked out" after a class. However I used to be a ballet dancer so my body was already pretty efficient at a lot of the movement.
  • bschoo01
    Options
    i do not have netflix :( and thanks krystlekiri... i'll have to check that one out!
  • tageekly
    tageekly Posts: 3,755 Member
    Options
    I recommend a class if you can get to one, to be sure your form is good - that's very important in yoga. If you can't make a class work, there are some good videos on YouTube (Sadie Nardini, yogayak, yogatic) and doyogawithme.com.