another runner question :)

Options
Sorry tons of running related questions today - its in my head as Im about to hit my 12 mile week in training before tapering :)

Do you run alone or with others?

Do you map out your run before and and if so how?

-I wish I always had a running buddy to run with but unfortinately know very little runners in real life so most runs are solo. Its a bit nerve wracking as the mileage gets higher because Im farther and farther away from home, on some very empty roads or busy roads all of which as a woman running alone is scarey. Not to mention I like to chat while I run. When Im running alone I have alot of military type funny cadiences on my ipod and look like a crazy person hollering it out loud.

Replies

• CarsonRuns
    CarsonRuns Posts: 3,039 Member
    Options
    I'm a solo artist. I rarely have company on a run.

As for mapping out runs, there are tons of resources. I log my runs on www.RunningAhead.com, which has a mapping tool and there is also www.gmap-pedometer.com that does the same thing. There are many others.
  • twinmom_112002
    twinmom_112002 Posts: 739 Member
    Options
    I tend to map out my runs ahead of time using runkeeper. Usually I make a loop so that I end up back at home or within a mile or two (the gap is a walking cool down). My dh is training for a half marathon with me but honestly it is easiest to run alone. This way I only have to worry about my own pace.
  • ktbia
    ktbia Posts: 118 Member
    Options
    I do my short distances alone. My husband and i train together, sort of- he is a lot faster so his "slow relaxing runs" are me busting my butt! But sometimes we do a trail or run in the evening nice and slow together, talking..

For long runs, I map mine out. Use my garmin or you can use mapmyrun. Sometimes me and him will start together but he will go faster.. but at least he's nearby, if I need him.
  • ka97
    ka97 Posts: 1,984 Member
    Options