Training for a FULL Marathon

emartin17
emartin17 Posts: 123 Member
Hey y'all,

I am running my first full marathon in 5 months (the beautiful Twin Cities Marathon) and need some tips. I have been wondering if I have enough time (meaning months not time in a day) to train for this properly. I have tried to look for this answer of course via Google but I see that people who sign up for one are the ones who haven't even attempted running a 5k and think it is easy stuff. I have been running for nearly 2 years now. So I am here to ask: is 5 months worth of 4 days a week training good enough for a marathon? I really don't want to pay for a trainer and ask this question. I just want to make sure I will make it without injuring and get into the psyche of marathon runners alike.

Replies

• cgray
    cgray Posts: 129 Member
    I think that you're fine on training time. I did my first full this past October. I had an official running coach and then used several apps from itunes to help me. Just don't over think it. Keep adding miles (my longest run before the marathon was 20 miles) but don't wake up and think "Oh my gosh, I'm running 20 miles today" just let your body do it's thing. If you have any pain, respect it. I managed to get through unhurt, not even sore really, no weight loss and I'd even consider doing another. Good Luck:) add me as a friend if you ever want to chat about it. I know you can do it, it sounds so much more scary than it really is.
  • ATLMel
    ATLMel Posts: 392 Member
    You'll be fine. If you've been a runner for a while, I'm sure you've got the base to train. The big issue comes when people want to go "COUCH to MARATHON IN 2 MONTHS!! WOOO!!". It's bad for your body and your brain. (Plus, not many people I know lose weight while training for a marathon, which is usually these kind of people's goal.)

Pick a good training plan and watch your nutrition and learn to take and love ice baths! Good luck!
  • dmf80
    dmf80 Posts: 60