Advice on Weight Lifting

Options
Hello,

I am looking for advice on weight lifting. I am looking to sculpt my body. I do lift weights, as is. I want to go heavier. I would like to see some definition. What kind of exercises are best? What do eat afterwards? What is the overall way to go about it appropriately? Should I increase my protein intake?

I have some knowledge but would like to get more efficient.

Thank you for feedback.. :-)

Monica

Replies

• karensoxfan
    karensoxfan Posts: 902 Member
    Options
    Have you checked out New Rules of Lifting For Women? I'm 3 weeks into it, and the focus is definitely on lifting heavy, and the book gives you a nutrition plan to support it.
  • TheAncientMariner
    TheAncientMariner Posts: 444 Member
    Options
    Starting Strength 5x5. Google it and enjoy your new body!
  • m60kaf
    m60kaf Posts: 421 Member
    Options
    Starting Strength 5x5. Google it and enjoy your new body!

do you mean 5 set 5 rep OR 5sec cadence?
  • joejccva71
    joejccva71 Posts: 2,985 Member
    Options
    New Rules, Starting Strength or Stronglifts are all good programs.
  • bizco
    bizco Posts: 1,949 Member
    Options
    Check your local library or Amazon for books to educate yourself. Some excellent ones are:

"The New Rules of Lifting for Women"
    "Starting Strength"
    "The Women's Health Big Book of Exercises"
  • jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    heavy, compound lifts (starting strength or stronglifts are good programs) + moderate cal SURPLUS (including high protein) + lots of patience = muscle development.

heavy, compound lifts + moderate cal deficit (induing high protein) + patience = fat loss

Those 2 things together, given enough time = definition.
  • LiftHuff
    LiftHuff Posts: 131
    Options
    ^^^
  • GraceK2012
    GraceK2012 Posts: 64 Member
    Options