heading to the gym... first time in months

Options
Last year I paid $10,000 dollars to have an expiremental weightloss surgery - the gastric plication. I easily lost 40 pounds... the next 10 pounds were a struggle. I started eating more and stopping at fast food drive thru's.
By late summer my mom was getting sicker and was admitted to the hospice where I work as a nurse. She died 8 days later and it was my ticket to eat. By Christmas I had gained all the weight back and my body hurt all over. I was so embarrassed. I was the fat girl who failed weightloss surgery.
I say girl and I just turned 48 this April. I guess in so many ways I feel no different than when I was 18-20 except for my weight. I still see myself as a young strong athlete. ... my body doesn't feel that way the morning after I work out. I feel old in my body most of the days now. I hurt so much I fear old age. I care for patients and most of the time I am working to get their pain under control. I see an awful future for me if I don't make changes now.
I am getting ready to go to the gym and swim soome laps. I went to see my chiropractor today and feel better. I had back surgery back on Christmas eve in 2009 and I need to lose weight for my back and legs.
Thanks for letting me vent. I hope that a year from now I will have lost my 100+ pounds and have learned to eat right and to exercises like I should. One thing that surgery taught me - there is no quick fixes. I did not put this weight on overnight, nor will I take it off overnight.
Deb

Replies

• stephenatl09
    stephenatl09 Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    Good for you ! That 1st step is tough. Girl, you are only as old as you feel. I am 54 years old and bought a pair of 30" waist jeans on Friday. You got this, just take it one step at a time. Oh and the jeans were purple :-) most will say not really age appropriate probably..whatever that means and who cares !! Not me !!
  • megsmom2
    megsmom2 Posts: 2,362 Member
    Options