Cheap, low ingredient vegetarian meal ideas?

Options
Hey there :)

I'm a vegetarian college student, which means lots of Taco Bell (because i can order anything without meat and it's really cheap >.>), but I want to make the initiative to eat better, so I'm opening up to all of you for ideas and inspiration :)

I'm specifically lookig for soemthing inexpensive and filling, but low-calorie and tasty. crock-pot/slow-cooker recipes are always welcome :)

Thanks in advance, everyone!

Replies

• veggievixen79
    veggievixen79 Posts: 109 Member
    Options
    Veggie stir fry! huge amounts of whatever veggies you like with soy sauce, garlic, ginger, lemon juice (all of these or a couple--whatever you have). Add an egg or tofu or veggie meat (have a look at the chinese/asian grocery stores if there are any).

If you use spray oil or very little oil and then add a little water if things start to stick to the pan, you can stuff your face for like 200 calories. Enjoy!
  • triinityz
    triinityz Posts: 146 Member
    Options
    dunno if i can paste a link but if you put thecheapvegetarian up ^ and put a few things like dots and such before and after they have a ton of recipes.
  • UrbanRunner81
    UrbanRunner81 Posts: 1,207 Member
    Options
    Get dried beans. Cheaper than can. Soak overnight and you can cook them in the slow cooker during the day. There is a great book vegan on the cheap (I'm vegetarian) but I like eating vegan more often. Also same author has a book called the vegetarian slow cooker. Great recipes too.
  • zoeluiisa
    zoeluiisa Posts: 392
    Options
    Easiest thing in the world is an omelette! I add a little cheese and whatever veg I have at the time.