Help with Calorie NE

Options
Hiya I'm new to myfitnesspal and i have a few queries

I'm unsure how the NET calories work. When I eat food my calorie intake for the day goes down, but when I exercise my NET calories go up. Should I be getting my NET calories as close to 0 as I can to lose weight. Or should I just eat my 1470 a day calories and anything extra I burn after that is a bonus.

I'm just over 16.5 stone and I want to get down to between 13 stone and 14 stone. I know it wont happen over night. Is there also any advice that I can get to help me

Replies

• susannamarie
    susannamarie Posts: 2,148 Member
    Options
    MFP is set up so that you get your NET calories to your goal.

That way you will maintain the same daily deficit regardless of whether you work out or not.
  • jameshubbard37
    jameshubbard37 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Thank you. So NET calories close to 0.
  • 81Katz
    81Katz Posts: 7,074 Member
    Options
    NET calories is what you want to be eating each day.

Say MFP gives you 1200 calories
    You exercise and burn off 300
    You are now down to 900 calories.
    Let's say you do not eat back any exercise calories
    You have technically only eaten 900 calories for the day. On top of the 1200 calories MFP telling you to eat there is ALREADY a deficit built in, let's say 500 calories. So if you only eat 900 a day you are eating at a 800 calorie deficit.

Some say eat back your exercise calories, some say eat some. I say if you ARE hungry it's ok to eat them because no matter what you're still eating at a deficit. But don't force yourself to eat just because you are under. Being under here and there WILL NOT automatically put you into "starvation mode" -- despite all the alarmist hype.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,412 MFP Moderator
    Options
    A side note, if mfp is calculating calories burned, eat 50-75% of them back. Mfp can overestimate for some people.
  • susannamarie
    susannamarie Posts: 2,148 Member