Low Carb - High Protein

Options
I am looking for some low carb - high protein foods/meals. If anyone could help me out it would greatly appreciated!! Thanks! =)

Replies

• tacticalhippie
    tacticalhippie Posts: 596 Member
    Options
    Meats?

I pretty much just eat lean meats with some raw veggies.
    Looks weird to some people but thats what I like
  • sal82
    sal82 Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    I'd love some ideas too. I'm just trying to lower my carb level a bit and getting stuck on ideas.
  • sarahrbraun
    sarahrbraun Posts: 2,261 Member
    Options
    I'm by no means an expert, but I do have a few ideas...

cheese tends to be low carb, high protein. I have been eating deli sliced cheese lately, and 1 slice has 1 carb, but 6-7 protein grams.

berries tend to be lower in carbs than many other fruits.

chicken ( plain, broiled) is super high in protein, with no carbs! Beef is carb free too.
  • sal82
    sal82 Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    Are there any carb experts out there? I have found since trying to lower my carbs and increase my protein my fats and cholesterol has gone up. It's been in the red the last few days. Is this bad? My calories are still sitting ok but I've noticed the others creeping up a bit.
  • crrc78
    crrc78 Posts: 207 Member
    Options
    lean meats
    eggs (especially egg whites to save calories)
    green veggies
    fat free greek yogurt
    hummus (some brands)
    cheese
    fish
    tuna salad with hardboiled eggs

I try to stick to 75g carbs/day and shoot for 150-200g protein/day, but it's really hard for me with my sweet tooth.
    Good luck!
  • nikki_marie05
    nikki_marie05 Posts: 92 Member
    Options
    I focus on low carb and low calorie, here are some things I eat:
    most meat-lean or not
    cheese
    peanut butter (only some brands are low-carb, be sure to check)
    low carb bread and pasta
    salads with ranch or Italian, a lot of dressings have a lot of carbs so be cautious