Low Carb - confused

Options
Hanni
Hanni Posts: 158 Member
Hi everyone,

this is one for the low carb gurus amongst you.

I have PCOS and was told to reduce my carb intake.
By now I dont eat bread (only Ryvita every now and then) and no pasta or rice.

I am concentrating on eating mainly salad, veg and fish.

I have read an article recently where people improved their symptoms and weight loss by eating only 5% carbs in their diet. I am on 40% and I am struggling. Mainly because I eat alot of veg.

So my question is, should I count veg as Carb? if I eat a portion of carrots I will already be over 5% so that cant be healthy.
I guess I am a little confused now :huh:

How much g of carbs / day are you low carbers on and what do you count as carbs?

Even milk has carbs... :ohwell:

Thanks!
H :flowerforyou:

Replies

• linzismith
    linzismith Posts: 139 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert and I don't know what PCOS is, but I did lose 17 lbs on a low carb diet a couple years ago. Whenever I've been on a low carb diet, I've "been told" that I still couldn't eat carrots, potatoes, corn, cauliflower or bananas. Even though their natural, they're naturaly high in carbs.

As for other vegies, like spinach or bell peppers, you can eat those. They do have carbs, but some of those carbs are fiber carbs, and those do not count because you don't actually digest them, they pass through you (maybe you already know this).

so make sure if a vegetable says it has 7 carbs, but 4 of them are from fiber, then there's really only 3 carbs you need to worry about. Hopefully that will give you a little wiggle room in your eating habits. And again, you still have to avoid starchy vegies like potatoes, corn, carrots, cauliflower and bananas (and fruit juice, don't drink fruit juice!).

Good luck!
  • teetsel4
    teetsel4 Posts: 288 Member
    Options