Staying motivated at the end

Options
Hi all,

I've been working at weight loss since early 2011, and I started MFP around September of last year. So far, I've lost 36KG, which I'm very happy with. However, I still have 14KG left to lose to reach my goal. I'm finding it hard to stay motivated lately. I think it's partly because my calorie goal has got so low now (as I'm keeping it steady at a 750 cal/day deficit). I'm halfway tempted to increase it a bit, maybe even going up to the maintenance calories for my goal weight, but that would slow my weight loss way down. I'm running my second half marathon in October, and if I keep going at the same rate, I could be very close to my goal weight before the race.

Has anyone else struggled to stay motivated when nearing the end of their weight loss? How did you push through to get the last 20 pounds or so off?

Thanks. :-) I'd appreciate any words of wisdom that are out there.

Replies

• cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,118 Member
    Options
    First, reset your goals. You should be at "Lose 1/2" or "Lose one pound" per week at this point in your weight loss.

It is hard to shed those final 20. Get tough. Hang in there. You have the rest of your life.
  • manthajill
    manthajill Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Thanks. :-) I appreciate the advice. The thing is, lowering my goals will slow things down. It's tempting to do, but then again, if I just keep pushing hard, it should be less than six months until I reach my goal. Then I'll get to go up to more than 1800 calories (before exercise) a day (which will feel like cheating every single day!!). I'm looking forward to that (and to being thinner), and I don't want to push that goal further away!!
  • neutralize
    neutralize Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    Yep I'm really struggling with this too!!