Stay at home mom with PPD

Options
AJHornik
AJHornik Posts: 58 Member
Hey everyone,
I am 25 years old, my daughter is 7 months. I've been on myfitness pal for awhile but I feel off the wagon. I thought this would be a good time to get involved online for support. I have only accessed it from my phone so far. I am mostly a stay at home mom, and I have Depression. It is very hard to find motivation to do anything, let alone exercise! I have GAINED weight since having my daughter, because I just eat all the time!! I would love to meet people for support and motivation. I hope this doesn't sound to debbie downer, but that is where I am at currently.
Nice to meet all of you :smile:

Replies

• sweetmelissa40
    Options
    First and foremost....I'm an OB nurse and if you are suffering from PPD please see your doctor. There is help!!
    Second...I'm Melissa, feel free to add me if you like!!!
  • mindyrosy
    mindyrosy Posts: 38
    Options
    Make yourself smile! Look at your little girl and practice smiling. Take her for a walk in the stroller - 3 times a day for 20 minutes each. Act like you are happy - you can do this. You have a beautiful baby daughter and you need to set the example...she can feel your depression - so focus on positive thoughts. Hope this helps and doesn't sound too preachy! You CAN get through this. Healthy eating also improves your mood!
  • HeatherGTaylor
    HeatherGTaylor Posts: 48 Member
    Options
    First step is trying to feel good about yourself so welcome back!!! We are here to motivate and support!
  • AJHornik
    Options
    Hi Melissa,
    Yes, I have been to my Doctor recently. I am slowly feeling better :smile:
  • impyimpyaj
    impyimpyaj Posts: 1,073 Member
    Options
    Hi there! I agree that you should see your doctor, or try to find a therapist. PPD is nothing to sneeze at. That said, there are things you can do to help.