Triathalon

Options
wolf2000
wolf2000 Posts: 18 Member
I did a Sprint Triathlon about 4 years ago and loved it and then my life got really busy and I have never done another one. I know it was a great way to get myself in shape. I would love to do another one. I am just trying to figure out how I could make the time to train and trying to get the motivation to do it. My wife and I have 3 young children and we recently started a new church this past Easter. In addition to pastoring I also work as a Land Surveyor 3-4 days a week. So I'm worried about finding the time without loosing to much of my precious family time. Anyone else doing or thinking about doing a triathlon that can help motivate me.

Replies

• bstamps12
    bstamps12 Posts: 1,184
    Options
    Look in the "groups" section for the Triathletes/Duathletes group. You can do a sprint triathlon decently with about 5 workouts per week if they are quality workouts. As a mom, I find waking up early for running & swimming is a good way to get in quality workout time without missing family time. If you are like most people, you can find time you aren't spending with your family that could be better utilized: Facebook time, zoned out on the TV time, reading a book time, etc. Cutting back on those things can create a good hour per day that can be used for a swim, ride, or run.
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    If you're not looking for a spot on the podium and can find about 4 hrs a week to train......

Here's a training plan from my club's web site.

http://www.ottawatriathlonclub.com/resources/training_plans/sprint.htm

I'll be doing my first sprint (did a sprint du last year) tri this summer, not worried about the run ior the cycling but my swimming still isn't great.
  • aggiesrar05
    aggiesrar05 Posts: 335 Member
    Options
    http://www.myfitnesspal.com/groups/home/1630-triathletes-of-tomorrow