Hypothyroid And/or Tired Adrenals?

Options
Hi, everybody. I'd like to hear from people who have gone through this, so please answer from personal experience and with as little judgment as possible.

I am an amateur triathlete, planning on doing 4 events this year. In the last two years, I've done ChaLEAN Extreme, 2/3 of P90X2 (until tri season training started) and now have been training since the end of April for tri season. I have been hypothyroid for 16 years, since I had my first kid. I've done the high protein/low carb diet plan, the low fat plan, and now the whole foods, plant-based system. No matter what I have done, nor how fit I've gotten (because I'm fitter than I look), I cannot lose the weight.

It finally hit me a few weeks ago, this does not make sense, and I then realized how truly crappy I feel -- tired all the time, kind of depressed, and losing interest in things I'd usually be very interested in. Then I went to see my regular doctor. After first attempting to put me on Zoloft (antidpressant), she retested my thyroid, and sure enough, it was off again. I say again because she's adjusted it 3X in the past 18 months. I am seeing an M.D./D.O. the end of this month, but in doing some research about this topic, I found out about something called "tired adrenals" or "adrenal fatigue," and I'm wondering if that could be part of my problem.

If any of you have had these symptoms AND seen your way back to health, please post your experience here. It seems the more I do, the fatter I get. This past weekend, I biked for two hours AND hiked 90 mins on Sat, then hiked 90 mins again on Sunday; I gained two lbs. I did not eat perfectly, but I should have had some leeway, considering my activity level. There is no way I am eating enough to weigh this much.

I am beyond fatigued and feeling down now as I try to slog my way through what I absolutely have to do. Any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• mabennett
    mabennett Posts: 53
    Options