HEART RATE MONITORS - Need Help

Options
MOTOACTV Fitness -- Seems pricey but it not only gives heart rate and calories burned but also is a mp3 player.

Has anyone used this before?
Pros vs. Cons anyone?

Replies

• secretlobster
    secretlobster Posts: 3,566 Member
    Options
    I haven't used that one, but Polar makes the best all-around HRM for running in my opinion. I have the FT60 which was about $135 and totally worth the price.

What I like about the MOTOACTV Fitness trainer (if we're talking about the same model) is that it's got wifi and bluetooth, and GPS embedded. It actually looks pretty awesome for people like myself who are big into stats and tech features.

Amazon.com shows mostly good reviews
    http://www.amazon.com/MOTOACTV-Fitness-Tracker-Music-Player/dp/B005Q3144W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1337269222&sr=8-1
  • lorenzoinlr
    lorenzoinlr Posts: 338 Member
    Options
    I have no experience with that unit but as an HRM and music listener I'd have some concerns. If one goes bad they both go bad. The other thing is I couldn't tell whether there was an arm or chest band. If it's merely a wrist device I'd have accuracy concerns.

I do understand it would be nice to cut down on the devices you have to mess with.

Lorenzo
  • _Schatzi_
    _Schatzi_ Posts: 112 Member
    Options
    I have a wahoo HRM with chest strap. It has ANT+ so the signal can be read by several iPhone apps. I can listen to music and record my heart rate at the same time. I also really like the graphs.
  • MoniqueMajicek
    Options
    I got mine off of craigslist for $10 and it works GREAT! I love it :)
  • jennt_22
    jennt_22 Posts: 155 Member
    Options
    I'm sorry, I don't know much about that HRM :/

I recently got the Polar Ft40 (http://www.amazon.com/Polar-Ft40F-Womens-Heart-Monitor/dp/B004AH299O) and so far no complaints!
  • Josedavid
    Josedavid Posts: 695 Member
    Options
    I use Timex Ironman Global Trainer with GPS enabled and I couldnt be happier!