Sushi?

Options
Hey all, I'm new to MFP!

I'm going to have sushi tonight, and the place I'm going has a great roll called the "Maui Wowie" that consists of shrimp tempura, yellowtail, avacado, and a pineapple salsa. I'll probably have it without avacado (blegh) but I'm not sure how to log it. I can't find any nutritional info for the restaurant.

There's a generic shrimp tempura roll and then yellowtail, and there's probably one for the salsa. Do you think this would be a pretty good estimation of the calorie intake for the roll?

Replies

• LiddyBit
    LiddyBit Posts: 447 Member
    Options
    Don't forget to log the sushi rice. And those rolls often have sugary or sodium laden sauces, too.
  • spikefoot
    spikefoot Posts: 419
    Options
    try breaking down the ingredients individually.

I am offended about your avocado remark :)
  • EEpling89
    EEpling89 Posts: 152
    Options
    I love vegetarian sushi (even though I'm not a vegetarian lol) and I especially love how low in cals it is! It's impossible to get an exact calorie count for everything you eat, especially in restaurants, so I usually do one of two things. Either search for such-and-such type of sushi in MFP and choose the one that looks closest to what you're having, or enter each component in individually. And you really have to be honest. If MFP says its 100 cals and you're stuffed, chances are it's way more. I usually try to overestimate, too, to leave room for error.
  • ChelleDJM
    ChelleDJM Posts: 161
    Options