Exhausted and hurting!

Options
I've been working out since 4/30/2012. When I started, I was pumped and ready to go. I was doing good working out every single day. I took a 3 day break this week, because my body is simply exhausted. I have absolutely no energy. My muscles hurt just walking a few feet.

My background:

I've been using a wheelchair for 3 years. I used it mostly for safety because I was falling/fainting and doctors couldn't figure out what was wrong. Last year I was diagnosed with vertigo. After doing some research I found that it's curable with physical therapy. I did a round of physical therapy at the beginning of the year, but developed pnemonia and had to stop for a while. I just finished physical therapy last week, and I was up to walking 500 feet without stopping, and the muscle atrophy in my back was almost nill. I have a herniated disc in my lower back, however since completing physical therapy it hasn't bothered me very often.

My workouts are focused on strength training (mostly core training). I've recently added leg curls and leg extentions.

The problem seems to be in my legs. They just feel like they are going to give out! I can only do 10-15 minutes of the sit down stair stepper thing (I can't remember the name of that machine) before it becomes really painful. (Walking to the door is another matter)

I am not asking medical advice, I've been cleared to lift weights and work out by my physical therapist and my doctor. But I want to walk without pain! It makes it very difficult to stay motivated to do something that hurts.

Anyone out there have advice on strengthening my legs? Is it normal to hurt this much?

Please help!

Thank you so much!

Replies

• ZebraBri
    ZebraBri Posts: 60
    Options