Having issues running... Can anyone help me ???

Options
I have been running on and off for the past 5 months, started walking then running...

Now I have about 50% good runs, 50% of the time they SUCK!! Have never been able to run for more than 1.5 solid mile without stopping..... getting fed up !

It's not cardiovascular for me, that part is fine, I love to run..... it's my damn calves and periformis muscle.

I have tried stretching, rolling my muscles before and after runs. I take Advil for inflammation.... I have even iced my legs....

The worst issue I am having is with my calves.

I guess the best way to describe it is when you step your leg flexes or tightens, then when you lift up your muscle relaxes.... well. mine never relax..., my calf is a rock hard ball, I stop and stretch, takes at least 30 sec each calf to get them somewhat loosened up and then start running again, 100 yards later, back to rock solid balls

They are not painful at all other than a TIGHT feeling but they are not comfortable to run with either, there is no cramping though...just big & tight and like lead.

I have been to a running store, I run in Brooks Glycerin 9, I am a neutral runner with a med/high arch, mildly supinate. This is not a hydration or diet issue.

Thoughts and help would be appreciated ??

Replies

• Jme2012
    Jme2012 Posts: 106 Member
    Options
    can't wait to hear the responses. I have been to physical therapy for the exact samething years ago. They did some sort of ultrasonic therapy a few times and he more or less told me that when you workout your muscle ins expanding at a greater rate then