Consistently eat too little but not losing weight

Options
Hi there,
I'm new to MFP but I have some critical clarifying questions to ask.
First off, I'm nearly 51 years old, 177 lbs, 5'4", I exercise regularly and I have a thyroid problem.
I have been consistently eating under 1000 cal/day(total, not net) for a long time now simply due to not feeling hungry enough to eat more and feeling too full when I do. However, I'm still overweight and my doctor recommends that I try to get down to 150. i joined MFP to get try and get a gauge on where I was going wrong and after calculating my recommended intake I realize I'm eating way too little. My intake should be around 1200 net to lose weight, but today for example I only netted about 500 calories and wasn't hungry. I feel as though boosting my intake will drastically increase my weight which is the opposite of what I want. Can anyone give me some insight on what I should/should not be doing to hit my 150 lb mark?

Replies

• JBHawaii
    JBHawaii Posts: 94
    Options
    I am not sure what the implications of a thyroid disorder are BUT let me give you my 2 cents.

You do need to eat a little bit more... I say 1200 calories or so at minimum. Try eating more fats and protein as the are calorie rich and wont, initially, make you feel so full. Basically, you wileat less for more calories. Maybe even try snacking on walnuts or almonds through the day.

Also, remember that this is a marathon, not a sprint. Try upping the calories and workout intensity for 2 weeks and see what happens. This little experiment might be just what you need.

Good luck!
  • runfatmanrun
    runfatmanrun Posts: 1,090 Member
    Options
    You'll likely hear this a lot but you need to eat more. I don't know how or what you can do but you likely need to eat. There are a lot of threads about eat more lose weight.
  • Symonep
    Symonep Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    You need to eat A LOT more
  • Deedsie
    Deedsie Posts: 348 Member
    Options