Protein Powder - Australian Brands

Options
teee12
teee12 Posts: 93 Member
Hi,

So I've been thinking lately i wouldn't mind trying protein powder, but i have NO IDEA where to start looking. so many powders. i want one that will assist me in losing weight and toning up. i work out 4-5 times a week. can someone help me? i saw a brand called sculpt.. but it's got insulin in it, and L-carnitine is that bad? eeee. help me :) also, i'm a little worried as i'm very sensitive to caffeine..

Replies

• ausphoenix
    Options
    I'm no expert but I would recommend you get whey protein isolate as apposed to whey protein concentrate. As I understand it the isolate is more protein and less/next to no carbs/fat and is better for building lean muscle and losing weight than the concentrate which is for bulking up.
    I have been buying my isolate powder from a local health food store which sells unbranded plastic bags of it, but I found a website recently which would be much cheaper particularly if you buy a big bag. I haven't purchased anything from the site yet, but I plan to soon. http://www.bulknutrients.com.au

You can find the isolate here: http://www.bulknutrients.com.au/protein/whey-protein-isolate-wpi-5

I would also recommend you avoid relying on protein powder as a regular meal replacement. I use it primarily as a post workout shake because the body can absorb it quickly and thats important post workout. However I do also use it to boost the protein count in a few things such as my morning oats. Also don't use too much. Make sure you read the nutrition info for whatever powder you buy and use it accordingly :)
  • teee12
    Options
    awesome, thanks for that. it really helped :) will def get some in the next few weeks :) sooo cheap too! :)
  • Abevemi
    Abevemi Posts: 54 Member
    Options
    ooohh, I will have to have a look at that as well! Thank you!
  • ausphoenix
    Options