Not sure if anyone else is going thru same things but....

Options
I am 42 years young. I have diabetes, thyroid disease, liver disease and arthritis of the hip and knee. I currently weigh 337 pounds. For the last 10 years I have weighed between 320-350 pounds. I have been on a 1500 calorie diet that the doc put me on for over a year. Nothing.... Went out and got a membership with the local YMCA and was going 4 times a week working out for 30-60 minutes each day....nothing.... I've had 3 doctors tell me they feel my only option at this point is gastric bypass. Not trying to do the surgery route so I find myself on this fine Friday evening asking all of you for suggestions. I am at a loss. I am giving myself 30 days to make a difference or I start making the phone calls to surgeons..HHHHHHEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Replies

• SconnieGal25
    Options
    Hey, I am by no means an expert on weight loss because I have just started a journey to also lose weight and get back in shape, but over the past few months there are a few things I have discovered that work for me and have given me results, and these things may work for you as well:

-I drink a ton of water each day. It helps me feel more full throughout the day.

-I work out 6 days a week. Sometimes the workouts are very intense and last about an hour. Other days they are only about 20-30 minutes, but I know that all/any exercise will help out in the long run.

-Also, when i log workouts on MFP, I usually only record the workouts for about half or 3/4 the actual time I spent working out just to account for any over-estimation that MFP calculates calorie-wise. That way I don't eat back more calories than I have actually burned. I don't have a heart rate monitor, but I know these can be helpful in monitoring more accurate calorie burns.