Fish Oil Suggestions?

3RMomma
3RMomma Posts: 55 Member
So my hubby's triglycerides are high and it was recommended that he start taking some fish oil. Any recommendations for brands?

Replies

• Trader Joe's. Fairly cheap.
  • neanderthin
    neanderthin Posts: 10,144 Member
    I've been using Neptune krill oil for the last 5 years....for the quality and absorption properties.
  • minkakross
    minkakross Posts: 687 Member
    keep them in the freezer or buy the burp free variety. I have no idea why keeping them in the freezer makes them burp free but it works.
  • Nature made is the bst
  • bewitchinglife
    bewitchinglife Posts: 167 Member
    Barlean's Omega swirl. Super yummy and is an excellent quality oil. Beware of cheap fish oil, they can be an inferior product.
  • Glucocorticoid
    Glucocorticoid Posts: 867 Member
    Get whatever is the best deal. The brand doesn't matter much, the dosage will. Have him take 10g/day.
  • TheFitFireman
    TheFitFireman Posts: 185 Member
    I use Optimum Nutrition's fish oils, they're a little pricey though.
  • jessgrey2
    jessgrey2 Posts: 88 Member
    Here's a place to start: Fish oil brands that passed 2012 quality standards via Consumer Reports: http://www.emaxhealth.com/8782/there-something-fishy-about-your-fish-oil-consumer-reports-says-yes
  • mcarter99
    mcarter99 Posts: 1,666 Member
    Get whatever is the best deal. The brand doesn't matter much, the dosage will. Have him take 10g/day.

A doctor told me most of them are rancid. She said bite a pill when you buy a bottle and if it doesn't taste fresh and slightly lemony they're probably bad and you should take them back.
  • wbgolden
    wbgolden Posts: 2,066 Member
    I got a 55 gallon barrel of the pills from Costco. No after-taste, knees feel better.

For my knees, fish oil has done in 3 weeks what Glucosamine Chondroiten (sp) didn't do in 2 years.
  • NoAdditives
    NoAdditives Posts: 4,251 Member
    Nature made is the bst