help!? eating 1200/day but no results!

Options
Hi yall I'm female, almost 24 and I weigh 160 lbs and I'm only 5'2". I'm new to all this so I don't know what all the abbreviations mean and all that. Fitness pal says to have 1200 calories a day which is not a problem for me, but I'm not seeing any results?! Is this the right amount of calories for me? If not, can someone PLEASE help me?! I've tried all those calculators and read the newbies post thing but I'm still clueless. Can someone please just talk me if 1200 cal/day is the eight thing to do?

Thanks

Replies

• khand58
    khand58 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    1200 sounds right for your age height and weight - you really don't want to eat any less than that. You said no results - sounds like something needs a kick start. How long have you been eating that amount? Are you doing any sort of exercise? You might need to increase your exercise to burn more calories.
  • orishp
    orishp Posts: 214 Member
    Options
    I find that its not just the calories, it has to be good quality food. and in my case, exercise has been key.

I started at 167, and 5'5", I cut carbs, sugars, dairy, so essentially I am eating lean protein and veggies, and 1 piece of fruit per day.
    I have lost 2 lbs/week steadily.

So my suggestion, get that body moving, dieting alone may not cut it. You may eat more on days you exercise to make up for those calories (so your net calories = 1200).

How long have you been at 1200 cals without no results, sometimes it takes your body 1 or 2 weeks to catch up with what you are doing
  • Heidi777
    Heidi777 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    That's so frustrating! You might find it helpful to shake things up by eating some different foods and be sure to measure your food portions for a while. It's easy to underestimate portion size!
  • cafreda
    cafreda Posts: 1 Member
    Options