New and lost...

Options
521DIVA
521DIVA Posts: 11 Member
i'm new to this and I'm trying to figure this thing out. Before i tracked any food it said i should eat 1200 calories a day. I like to plan ahead so after tracking my entire meals for today and do my exercise it says I should eat 1700 and something calories. Do it stick to the 1200 or do i eat the 1700.

Replies

• rbl1225
    rbl1225 Posts: 235 Member
    Options
    If I were you I would track a day of eating what you think is healthy and it shows you the carbs the fat and protein of what you eat. I did my first tracking day yesterday and that is how I did it. I tried weight watchers and this site actually shows you those type of things. After the first day start slowly adjusting. It won't put your body into a type of shock and then even after you're diet tha is what your body will be used to eating.
  • Acebodytransformation
    Options
    I would say start with between 1500-1700 first and then play around with it, also post all your food and at the end of the day then you will evenutally get the hang of it, now like I told you try calorie cycling for the first few days and try it out and since your active I say dont do 1200 or below, hope this has helped some what.
  • delonda1
    delonda1 Posts: 525 Member
    Options
    I plan ahead also so I understand!

I would not do 1200 unless you feel you need to. I think MFP sets many people at 1200 and while you will lose weight more likely at a rapid pace you may be miserable and tired (i always was). So I would start with around 1400-1600 and not add in extra workout calories.. And you go up or down as needed when you find what your body needs. I don't live and die by macro numbers because they arent so important to me. I go over in carbs almost everyday and not because I don't eat properly and eat a lot of breads and pastas but because veggies have a ton of carbs also. So just choose what is best for you and listen to your body
  • Smokey19