1 Year - My Transformation

Options
I joined MFP in June 2011 after returning from holiday and stepping on the scales ( for the first time in ages ) I was shocked at the reading on the scales........... 323.4 lbs, I was obese, I had to do something and do it NOW.

For the first month I was just sticking to my daily cals set by MFP, the weight was coming off slowly, but I wanted better results, so after doing lots of research I started lifting weights in an effort to build muscle and reduce bodyfat.

I cleared out the spare room at home, bought an elliptical cross trainer, A weight bench and a set of Bowflex 1090 dumbbells ( my small home gym ) I put together my own full body workout program which would take about 1 hour and I did this 3 times a week.

I wanted to build muscle, but everything I was reading was telling me that its almost impossible to build muscle while on a calorie deficit so i kept my protein intake high ( around 250g a day ).

By November 2011 I had lost just over 70 lbs and I could really start to see some good changes in my body and set myself a new goal of getting to below 10% bodyfat by June 2012 ( 1 year ).

In january 2012 after doing more research I decided to try Intermittent Fasting after reading lots of info on the Leangains website.
I changed my workout to include more compound lifts using heavy weights, reduced my workouts to twice per week and put together my daily menu to fit in with my daily calorie / macro targets, so since January I have basically eaten the same things every day, day in day out with a few tweeks here and there.

This week was my 1 year with MFP, I am 43 years old and in the best shape I have ever been in my entire life, it just goes to show what can be achieved with hard work and determination.

These are my results and progress pictures :

Weight June 2011 - 323.4 lbs
Weight June 2012 - 219.8 lbs

Bodyfat June 2011 - 33%
Bodyfat June 2012 - 9.5%

Chest June 2011 - 56 inches
Chest June 2012 - 42 inches