Vegetarians

Options
Sorry I didn't mean to post this on the "food and nutrition" part too.

I recently became a vegetarian a week ago and am very committed to it. The only problem I am having is finding simple recipes I can make at my college apartment; I don't have too many spices and cooking materials besides the basics. I went grocery shopping the other day and bought lentils, brown rice, three different kind of beans, hummus and pita bread, vegetable broth, tofu and a bunch of veggies. However, I do not know what to do with all the different ingredients. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks a bunch,
Kristina

Replies

• cmurphy04722
    Options
    Hey, it's just after midnight for me but I have info for you!

Message me tomorrow or whenever you get this to remind me, and I'll email some veg tips for college life. I graduated in May and have been veg for 3 1/2 years (vegan for 3 months before that). I have a few cookbooks for under 5 ingredient recipes and such. Maybe I'll even send one of them your way :-)

So yeah, message me so I remember tomorrow when I get home from work!

Good luck!

Christina
  • BrendaLee
    BrendaLee Posts: 4,463 Member
    Options
    Beans, canned tomatos and chili powder with a touch of brown sugar makes a great inexpensive chili.
  • CinthyNair
    Options
    Hi there,
    You can google up for simple vege recipes. One of my fav site is www.rawreform.com. I picked up a couple of recipes and a wonderful raw vegan insights which I do incorporate into my daily diet, such as the green juice.

Cinthy
  • renee22
    renee22 Posts: 33
    Options
    hummus + veggies + pita = perfect meal (w/o the pitas, its super low cal & will fill you up)

i also cut my pitas into smaller triangles, add some spices (i use mrs. dash table blend or southwest blend), bake at 400 degrees for 10-15 until start to brown around edges - this way i can eat something crunchy when i eat salads or for a snack