Constant soreness

Options
Good morning! Ow.

See, I'm still new to this whole "really putting effort into exercise" thing. Am I supposed to be sore every day? It's not debilitating, except for my heel on bad days, but I'm wondering if I should be sore 3X a week, every day, if I shouldn't be sore more than once.

Is being sore a perpetual state of being for people who are already fit?

Yes I feel the benefits, no I probably won't stop exercising the way I am, I would just like to know if it's what I get to "look forward to" every day for the rest of my life.

Replies

• mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    Options
    Your body will adapt and after a while it will be less and just a little stiffness the day after a typical workout, If it's a lot more than that consistently, you may be overtraining on your workout days and may want to cut back on volume while keep same intensity.
  • Caffeinewitch
    Caffeinewitch Posts: 110 Member
    Options
    Gotcha. I just recently changd my workout routines a couple of weeks ago and started getting the soreness just about every day right around then. So I guess I'll wait a couple more weeks?
    I like the idea of cutting the volume, but I think that's my laziness coming back *^_^ so I'll wait it out a bit longer before I do that.

Thank you very much!
  • Linda345
    Linda345 Posts: 11
    Options
    There was a time earlier in my life when I was weight training, and I was always sore. I just never seemed to recover. I no longer have that problem and I am currently weight training intensely. I only have mild soreness with a muscle group the day after I work out that muscle group, but that's about it. I think my biggest problem before was that I was not getting enough protien.

Here are some things I believe help me recover faster and not have much soreness: