To all the Marathon runners out there

Options
cbbn11
cbbn11 Posts: 125 Member
I just started training for my first 5k Marathon at the end of Oct. My one question is about how to eat the day of the race.
The race starts at 9:30 am.
Do I do a good carb day the day before and have a protein shake for breakfast that day?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Di3012
    Di3012 Posts: 2,250 Member
    Options
    I just started training for my first 5k Marathon at the end of Oct. My one question is about how to eat the day of the race.
    The race starts at 9:30 am.
    Do I do a good carb day the day before and have a protein shake for breakfast that day?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

OP do you mean a 5k or a Marathon? Which one?
  • DaveC29
    DaveC29 Posts: 232 Member
    Options
    For a 5k (3.1 Miles) - Eat a good breakfast a few hours before the race (5:30 - 6:30 or so) You really do not need carb loading for a short distance like this.

For a Marathon (26.2 Miles), begin loading with carbs 2 days prior- clean carbs - whole grain pasta, whole wheat breads, etc. Also make sure you begin hydrating well 2 days prior. Eat a good breakfast the day of the race a few hours before and carry plenty of carbs for the race (I like gummy bears, jelly beans and honey packets... but Gu, ClifShots, etc. work just as well
  • Masterdo
    Masterdo Posts: 331 Member
    Options
    For a 5k don't worry about nutrition that much. Do whatever is comfortable for you, and most importantly, something you have already done many times before a training run. That's the most important part. Start hydrating well before the race, too. Some people like coffee or redbull in the morning, as caffeine, for most, helps with digestion. Again, make sure it's something you have done numerous times in the past before trying it on race day :p