Exactly how does fat burn and from where?

Options
So I am at the gym sweating like a pig on the treadmill, elliptical or stair climber burning calories and my heart rate is at a good percentage. My quesion is where is that fat being burn off from. I know I am losing, but do you slowly lose from all over or how does the whole fat go away thing work??

Replies

• licia67
    licia67 Posts: 109
    Options
    You slowly lose from all over. Fat leaves your body in sheets, kinda like peeling an onion. Where you carry the most fat, (where it goes first) will take the longest to leave.
    The owner of the gym I work at said that it is usually after the first 20 minutes of cardio that the fat burning process kicks in...
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,020 Member
    Options
    You will lose fat from all over, you can't "spot reduce" .....does that answer the question?? That much I do know for a fact!

I'm not a medical professional. Did you try google or MayoClinic.com?

Well that sort of answers the question but no I already knew you couldn't spot reduce. I was really wondering about the scientific aspect of it.

licia67, you mean my stomach will be the last thing to get thin. UGHHHH! It is definitely the biggest area. :ohwell:
  • michlingle
    michlingle Posts: 797 Member
    Options
    From what I understand, when you gain weight the size of your fat cells increase and they will also reproduce. So once you've "earned" that fat cell it's there for life. The size of it is what will change as you lose weight. They shrink and expand at the same rate.
  • AmandaJ
    AmandaJ Posts: 1,950 Member
    Options
    Oh bother, that means I have lots of fat cells, especially in my stomach. Thanks for the info, seriously!
  • songbyrdsweet
    songbyrdsweet Posts: 5,691 Member
    Options
    In a nutshell....