weight loss equation for 5'3 female, 180 lbs???

Options
I am a nurse and have a female client who is 5'3" and about 180 lbs. She is a quadriplegic thus has a sedentary lifestyle. She wishes to reduce her weight to 130.

I know how to calculate her RMR; which is her healthy body weight x 10, then multiply that by 1.3 (sedentary lifestyle). The result is 1690 cals per day. THAT is for a person who's 130. How should this equation change for her?

How many calories should she be eating per day in order to lose 1/2-1 lb per week??

Thanks so much~

Replies

• HausfrauB
    HausfrauB Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    Here is a great site for helping to figure out BMR and calorie goals: http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/
  • LittleNicci
    LittleNicci Posts: 284 Member
    Options
    Here is a great site for helping to figure out BMR and calorie goals: http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/

agreed!
  • KateRepine
    KateRepine Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I'm almost that equation to a T! I'm on 1520 to lose 1/2 to 1 lb a week
  • yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    Options
    I am a nurse and have a female client who is 5'3" and about 180 lbs. She is a quadriplegic thus has a sedentary lifestyle. She wishes to reduce her weight to 130.
    I know how to calculate her RMR; which is her healthy body weight x 10, then multiply that by 1.3 (sedentary lifestyle). The result is 1690 cals per day. THAT is for a person who's 130. How should this equation change for her?
    Estimating her initial body fat at 40% http://www.cordianet.com/calculator.htm comes up with

Caloric Need:
    Estimated Base BMR: 1428 Calories.
    Estimated TDEE: 1713 Calories.
    Estimated Daily Caloric Need For Weight Loss: 1213 Calories.